Homemade: Best Strawberry Jam Ever

Standard

I’ve tried making strawberry jam in the thermomix a few times now using the EDC recipe, but despite all my efforts and even adding extra cooking time, I don’t seem to be able to get a nice thick jam. I make a delicious strawberry sauce, but a very runny jam. Just recently my friend A mentioned she tried Tenina’s recipe for Strawberry and Vanilla Jam, and that it worked out perfectly. I tried it myself on the weekend and oh my goodness it was amazing. Thick, jammy jam, but not sickly sweet and very quick and easy to make. I made 3 batches and the recipe worked every time. I also did one batch and increased the ingredients and cooking time as below, plus a few tweaks to the method, and it still worked out beautifully. The original recipe makes about 600g of jam, and the revision below makes about 900g.

Ingredients

  • 600g strawberries (fresh or frozen)
  • 300g sugar
  • 1 and 1/2 green apples, pips removed and sliced with skin on
  • Vanilla seeds scraped from 1 vanilla bean

Method

  1. Place all ingredients in TMX and cook on Varoma, 55 min, Sp 1 with simmering basket on top of lid instead of MC
  2. Check the consistency of the jam by placing a spoonful of jam on a cold plate; if it wrinkles when pushed the jam is ready
  3. If not cooked, cook on Varoma for a further 10 min, Sp 1 and check again. Repeat until desired consistency is reached
  4. Place MC in lid and blitz 10 sec, Sp 9
  5. Spoon into sterilised jars and seal while hot

Sterilising Jars

Recycle used jars or buy new glass jars for your preserve. Wash the jars and lids thoroughly in hot soapy water, rinse well and air dry. Alternately wash them in the dishwasher. Then place clean jars on a clean tray in the oven at 100C and allow to dry out for 15 min. Pour hot jam into hot, sterilised jars and seal with lids immediately. As the jam and jar cools the lid will be pulled in to form a seal. The lid of the jar will ‘pop’ when opened. You can also purchase plastic film seals for your jars that go over the jar before the lid is put on. I’m sure you can buy them elsewhere but I get these ones from Coles ($1.83 for a 24 pack). They are handy if your jars have been reused numerous times and the lids are getting worn.

23 responses »

  1. Pingback: Lunchbox Legends: Sneak Peek #3 « Hungry Hungry Hippies

  2. just finish making this. works perfectly. only had one gala apple and added zest from a small lemon.
    apple with skin on is a great idea to boost pectin content for consistent setting results. now to make some bread…..

    • Hi Leanne,
      As long as you have sterilised your jars and sealed them while the jam is hot, they should last 12 months. Obviously if there is any sign of mould or discolouration when you go to open them up there has been some issue with the sterilisation. To be honest, it’s never lasted very long in my house!
      Hope that helps 🙂

  3. The jam looks great, it just cooling now. It looks nice and thick. One problem…it looks like I have burnt the bottom of my thermomix 😦 Help. Has this happened to you and how do I clean it? I have already tried the vinegar solution and it is not budging.

    • Can’t wait to get started on jam tomorrow! One question: can you increase quantities, and if so does it effect cooking time?

      • Hi Martine,
        Sorry I couldn’t get back to you earlier. I’ve found 600g is the most I can do without it bubbling over the top if the TMX. Hopefully you didn’t find that out the hard way! Did your jam turn out well? I just made a batch on the weekend 🙂

  4. Made this, tasted awesome. I used pink lady apples accidentally, but am still very happy with it, and on our second batch, we ran out of Raw sugar, so made it up with about 60g of brown sugar, and it still tastes great! Any ideas on how to stop the burning on the bottom? perhaps a lower temp or blitz on reverse to help move the bit that is going to burn??

    Have to point out that it makes about 400mL of jam if you are going to Jar it.

    • So glad you liked the recipe Palitu. I haven’t had trouble with it burning on the bottom even when i’ve done multiple batches, but I’d say just remove the blades and give the bottom of the jug a scrub with steel wool. It’ll come up as good as new.

  5. Pingback: Feeding the Funky Bunch: Easy Peasy Healthy Ice Creams | Hungry Hungry Hippies

  6. Pingback: Top 13 for 2013 | Hungry Hungry Hippies

  7. Not sure what went wrong, but I put it on and ducked out to grab some jars from the shed and found a puddle of strawberry sauce on the floor, under the Thermomix and bread maker and running down the cupboard door, if my house keeping had have been better I would have scrapped it back in off the bench. Is Veroma too high, I have bunged in another punnet of strawberries and a bit of sugar and have crossed my fingers.

    • Oh no! How did the second batch go? I’ve never had a problem with this recipe and I have lots of friends who use it regularly without the TMX bubbling over. You definitely can only use the weight of strawberries specified in the recipe – I have tried it with more and that does bubble over. Hope your second batch worked. It is such a delicious jam. Good luck!

  8. Making it tonight for tomorrow’s kinder fete. Smells great. Is there a secret in how the steaming basket stays on top? Mine throws itself (exorcist style) every time I walk away – I must have missed that tip along the way. Any clues would be welcome. Thanks.

  9. Thank you so much! I too made the EDC version of Strawberry Jam, and while it tasted like Strawberry Jam, that’s about where the comparison ended! This jam was perfect! Taste is beautiful, consistency is jam-like and an all round crowd pleaser! I will be making this again!

Leave a Reply

